Skip to main content

The quality of the Danish health system is extremely high and similar to the level of care in other Western European countries. The Danish health care system is divided into two sectors:

Primary sector

The primary sector is usually the first point of contact for general medical consultations at general practitioners. Services in this sector include treatments at general practitioners, care for elderly and children, prevention and health promotion as well as rehabilitation.

Secondary sector

Hospitals constitute the secondary sector and are responsible for providing further diagnostic examinations and more specialised treatments.

Cornerstones of the Danish health care system

  • A public health care system predominantly financed through general taxes
  • Free and equal access for all Danish citizens
  • High efficiency and quality

Denmark is divided into five regions responsible for the running of Danish hospitals (secondary sector). The Danish government together with the Danish Health Authority makes laws and issues the framework within which the regions plan the provision of health services. The municipalities (primary sector) offer services in accordance with health agreements made with the government.